The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award in the UK

Coming up to Yr9 or nearing 24? Do your DofE

The DofE is all about going the extra mile – gaining new skills, pushing yourself physically, helping others and exploring new territories. At the same time, you’ll gather friendships, experiences and memories that will last a lifetime.

It doesn’t matter who you are or where you’re from, as long as you’re Yr 9 to 24, you can choose the activities that motivate you and go on your own personal journey. We know from other participants that the DofE helps you stand out from the crowd when you apply for college, university or jobs.

About the Award

Award levels and timings

There are three levels of programme you can do which, when successfully completed, lead to a Bronze, Silver or Gold Duke of Edinburgh’s Award. The main differences between them are the minimum length of time they take to complete, how challenging they are and the minimum age you can start: Bronze in Yr9; Silver, Yr10; Gold, 16. So long as you are the minimum age you can start at any level. PLEASE NOTE that you CAN start before 14 and 15 for Bronze and Silver respectively – please go to sub sections here 

Timescales for each level

DofE Award sections

Adventurous, caring, sporty, creative… however you might describe yourself, the DofE is for you. Take a look at the Award sections below to start planning your own personal and unique journey.

  • Volunteering
  • Physical
  • Skills
  • Expedition
  • Residential (for Gold DofE participants only)

Download a handy list of programme ideas for all sections (remember this is not definitive!).

Use the Opportunity Finder to get some inspiration for your DofE sections.