In 2021, we will be meeting in the Dance Studio (above the Multi Purpose Sports Hall) at Gillingham School from immediately after school: 3.30pm until 5.30pm 

Individuals/parents are welcome to drop in for help any time.

Regular team attendance for Silver expedition planning and preparation is during the spring term; Bronzes from April until June. Golds will do their planning in one day in the future: see the gold page

Teams continue to work together until their Expedition Presentation is completed 

The Expedition section has three elements for all to cover at all levels:

  1. Training
    • Getting all the basics in place. Direct supervision
    • Bronzes/Directs do full basic training including 1st Aid and overnight camping
    • Acclimatisation and upskilling for Silvers and Golds
  2. Practice
    • Can they do a self sufficient Final? Close, moving to remote supervision
    • Bronze –  a day, overnight and morning
    • Silver – 2 nights, 2 days
    • Gold – 3 nights, 3-4 days (room for refresher training)
  3. Final
    • Fully self sufficient and appropriately remotely supervised
    • Bronze – 2 days (6hrs planned journeying) 1 night
    • Silver – 3 days (7hrs planned journeying) 2 nights
    • Gold – 4 days (8hrs planned journeying) 3 nights

If expedition stages are missed by an individual we ask other Dorset Council DofE centres to help. 

Expedition Kit: 

  • Our Kit List for a normal expedition!
  • Kit does not need to be especially bought at first
  • Please make sure that everything on the list is packed and don’t forget to leave room for team kit like a tent or trangia or fuel. Don’t overpack.
  • We have some kit that can be borrowed, so long as it is returned after the Expedition/event in the condition it went out in! It is lent on a first come, first served basis. It must come back in on the agreed date otherwise you will incur a £1/week late fee! That late fee will go up. People who persistently don’t return kit will not be able to borrow it again.

Menu planning and food choices:

  • DofE Gourmet meals 2021
  • Food on Expedition Slides
  • An important part of training so you know
    • personal needs
    • collective team evening meal. 
  • Please do NOT bring things needing hot water at lunch time – for various reasons: safety, hygiene, convenience, teamwork, need for extra fuel (and therefore extra to carry), timings – especially when teams are already behind due to getting mislaid or inclement weather!

Useful downloads: 

All dates are below.

Further Activity Detail is added to offsite events as the dates get closer. Please say if you have any problems getting to or being collected from the start/finish points.

  • Bank account: Gillingham DofE OAC  
  • BACs transfer: sortcode 30.98.97 (Lloyds) a/c 47830260 – Bank Ref MUST BE full name of participant

All dates are subject to any COVID-19 restrictions in place at the time 

From May 17 2021 we are able to camp, working within these guidelines: Covid Expedition  Security as at 17 May 2021

Tuesday 28-Sep-21 edofe training, actvity choice
Tuesday 05-Oct-21 Carey Briefing
Tuesday 12-Oct-21 edofe training, actvity choice
Saturday 16-Oct-21 BRONZE Carey Camp – DETAILS HERE
Sunday 17-Oct-21
Saturday 23-Oct-21 half term starts – one week
Tuesday 02-Nov-21 Drop In
Tuesday 09-Nov-21 Kit Presentation 
Tuesday 16-Nov-21 Kit Presentation 
Tuesday 23-Nov-21 Drop In
Sunday 28-Nov-21 Day Hike 
Tuesday 30-Nov-21 Drop In
Tuesday 07-Dec-21 Drop In
Tuesday 14-Dec-21 No DofE
Friday 17-Dec-21 Xmas hols to 3 Jan (inc) 
Tuesday 04-Jan-22 No DofE
Friday 07-Jan-22 (Inset) FIRST AID, Silver plan & trg
Tuesday 11-Jan-22 Drop In
Tuesday 18-Jan-22 Drop In
Tuesday 25-Jan-22 Drop In
Saturday 29-Jan-22 Day Hike 
Tuesday 01-Feb-22 Drop In
Tuesday 08-Feb-22 Gold WC Trg Briefing 
Tuesday 15-Feb-22 Drop In
    half term from 19/2 – one week
Saturday 19-Feb-22 Gold Wild Country Training Bachelors Hall, Dartmoor – booked
Sunday 20-Feb-22
Monday 21-Feb-22
Thursday 24-Feb-22 Gold Lowland planning day
Friday 25-Feb-22 Gold Lowland planning day
Saturday. Sunday 26. 27-Feb-22 FIRST AID, Silver plan & trg on the 27th
Tuesday 01-Mar-22 Drop In
Saturday 05-Mar-22 Day Hike 
Tuesday 08-Mar-22 Silver Prac Brief & Kit Pick up 
Tuesday 15-Mar-22 Drop In
Friday 18-Mar-22 Silver Practice – Fri evening start
Saturday 19-Mar-22
Sunday 20-Mar-22
Tuesday 22-Mar-22 Drop In
Tuesday 29-Mar-22 Gold Briefing for WC Practice 
Tuesday 05-Apr-22 Gold & Silver Briefing for Finals 
    Easter Hols 9/4 to 25/4 (Inset) 
Saturday 09-Apr-22 Wild Country Practice 
Sunday 10-Apr-22
Monday 11-Apr-22
Tuesday 12-Apr-22
Thursday 21-Apr-22 Gold Lowland Final 22 -25 April 
Friday 22-Apr-22
Saturday 23-Apr-22 Silver Final – 23 – 25 April
Sunday 24-Apr-22
Monday 25-Apr-22
Tuesday 26-Apr-22 Bronze planning
Tuesday 03-May-22 Bronze planning, Practice Brief
Saturday 07-May-22 Gold Wild Country Plan Day 
Sunday 08-May-22 Gold Wild Country Plan Day 
Tuesday 10-May-22 Bronze planning
Saturday 14-May-22 Bronze Practice half the teams
Sunday 15-May-22
Tuesday 17-May-22 Bronze planning
Tuesday 24-May-22 Bronze planning + Silver Pres. 
Saturday 28-May-22 half term starts – one week
Tuesday 07-Jun-22 Bronze planning
Saturday 11-Jun-22 Bronze Practice half the teams
Sunday 12-Jun-22
Tuesday 14-Jun-22 Bronze Final Brief and planning
Tuesday 21-Jun-22 Info Evening for 22-23
Saturday 25-Jun-22 Bronze Final – all the teams
Sunday 26-Jun-22
Tuesday 28-Jun-22 Gold Briefing for Practice 
Tuesday 05-Jul-22 Bronze Pres and kit return 
Thursday 07-Jul-22 Gold Wild Country Practice 
Friday 08-Jul-22
Saturday 09-Jul-22
Sunday 10-Jul-22
Tuesday 12-Jul-22 Bronze presentations
Tuesday 19-Jul-22 Gold Briefing for Final 
    Summer Hols from 23 July 
Friday 22-Jul-22 Gold Wild Country Final 23 – 26 July (22 arrival) 
Saturday 23-Jul-22
Sunday 24-Jul-22
Monday 25-Jul-22
Tuesday 26-Jul-22